Icarus: Inspired by Ray Bradbury

Lawrence L. Lapin

Twitter: @LarryLLapin

Icarus is the famous mythological figure who wanted to fly like a bird. The young man fabricated wings of wax and feathers and would try them out on a flight with his father. On their at-first successful test flight, Icarus soared in an updraft. But the ambitious man failed to heed his father’s advice and flew too high, where the hot sun melted the wax holding together the wings. Icarus fell to Earth.

I chose the name Icarus for the fictional comet that would eventually fall from Jupiter’s sky after flying too close to the Sun. In my book, Adam’s Caverns, the comet’s discoverers hope their name choice would not be prophetic. Unfortunately, it would prove doubly so, and a portion of the segmented comet separated from the rest, eventually to crash into Earth.

I first became familiar with the Icarus myth as a child. I recall comic-book images of the man and his father gliding with their fabricated wings. Years later, as an Air Force lieutenant working in the ballistic missile program, I encountered the Icarus name again. The great Ray Bradbury was speaking at our base to an assembly of officers, engineers, and scientists. He told of naming the protagonist for one of his stories. Bradbury chose Icarus for the man’s first name, followed by the honorific handles of aviation pioneers, balloonist Montgolfier and airplane-inventor Brothers Wright. Bradbury’s fictional character bore the handle “Icarus Montgolfier Wright.”

The name Icarus became firmly implanted in my memory. Decades later I would use Icarus as the name for that wayward comet that would mainly plow into Jupiter, leaving a wayward Everest-sized piece to be diverted toward our planet.

Adam’s Caverns is the first book in my Adam’s Chronicles series. There are presently four books included, with more to be added.

Layout 1      Adam's New World 0616 (Small)      Adam's Tiger 0616 (Small)      Layout 1

Adam’s story is always brought up to date in fresh ways, so that books in this series may be read in any order.

The following book is the series prequel and may be read independently.


All of the above are available at Amazon as Kindle E-Books.

What Others Say About This Series

Awesome story of restoration of Earth—an epic novel, one that shall never be forgotten. Dr. Lapin is truly gifted as a story teller. … Powerful, fast page turning story. Highly recommend—Nancy of Utah, Amazon Reviewer.

Great book, it is the kind of book you can’t wait to read again—Sandra Potter, Amazon Reviewer.

I am fascinated by the quality of this book. … A wonderful blend of thrilling adventure, science fiction and romance. … It delivers on so many different levels. Well done—Dennis Waller, Top 500 Amazon Reviewer.

This story had every element … an exciting plot, attention to detail, but best of all fleshed out, well-written and well-rounded character development. Abundance of well-illustrated scenes. … had me immersed from the beginning. The story flows … with ease, and the author shows exceptional skill when it comes to storytelling. … Twists and turns in this page turner … make you want to read it non-stop. … Highly recommended—Piaras, Amazon Reviewer.

Phenomenal series offers elements of the thriller, mystery, science fiction, and romance genres. Dr. Lapin’s novels are exciting, with wonderfully developed characters and situations—Jada Ryker, Top 1,000 Amazon Reviewer.

Mad scientist or brave hero? … A murder mystery, medical thriller, and science fiction novel all rolled into one. I recommend it highly—Diane Rapp, Amazon Reviewer.

A fast paced story so plausible that I had trouble figuring the line where science fact and science fiction resides. … That credibility made the debate about the desirability of immortality real instead of fantasy. … An entertaining read—Capt’n Bob, Amazon Reviewer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *